top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaulette Martin Hampton

It Takes a Village to Raise a Book

I've always been a writer at heart, but I didn't get into it seriously until about six years ago. At that time, I felt I could go about self-publishing on my own. For some, that may work. For me...not so much.



For those who are just starting out as writers (self-published or traditional) here are a few things I've learned along the way that may be useful to you on your journey:





Beta Readers are Your Friends - For those beta readers who take the time to read your manuscript and provide constructive feedback, their input can tip your story on its head so you can see it from a new angle. Receiving this type of feedback has opened my mind to seeing things in a way that would have never occurred to me otherwise, since the beta reader is filtering your words through their own unique backgrounds and life experiences.


Invest in Your Story - By that I don't mean to invest just in terms of time and creativity. I mean financially as well. Hire a good editor and someone who can help you market your book. You owe it to yourself and your readers to deliver a professional product.


Bottom line, at least for me, is not to go it alone. Have a support system around you like beta

readers, editors, etc. They come at the whole book business from a different perspective than you. For you, your MS is your heart, blood, sweat, and tears. For them, there's no emotional investment, making them somewhat more objective when giving feedback.


So, yeah, this time I have a support system in place, and that system holds me accountable, which is what I need when tackling a big goal like writing a book.









6 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page